Time to put those feet up

Last day at work. Felt very weird people saying bye to me. I’ll be popping in and out no doubt over the next few weeks after dropping Harry at nursery. He also has the pre-school leaver’s play there in a few weeks (‘The Very Hungry Caterpillar’ – he’s going to be a pear). And we have my leaving meal on Wednesday. Been training the newbies (not that they’re actually new: they’re student staff who have finished their exams now so are free to work full time) all week and that’s just has weird, handing over the reigns so to speak. I feel very possessive of The Yard – I have ran it ever since it opened.

Stopped at the shops on the way home. James is away for a few days (Cyprus, for work although I’m not sure how much of that is getting done in between the coffee stops, dinner with the MD and the flying trips during which he took the controls for a while!) so I figured I should do all the bulky stuff while I had Harry in the pushchair. That way I can do the last few bits in town tomorrow with him, no doubt with lots of promises of hot chocolate. I picked up a few baby bits. Nothing major, just bits for my hospital bag. I have written several lists over the last few weeks but not actually done any preparation yet, so now I have finished work it is time to get organised!

So, dinner is in the oven. Harry is asleep. This blog post is almost written. Something tells me this blog is just going to be overloaded with baby stuff these next few months! By the time I have unloaded and reloaded the dishwasher, dinner will be ready and I can crash out in front of the TV and catch up on some blogs. She says. My mind is buzzing with all the things I am now free to do! But sorting that cupboard can wait…

3 thoughts on “Time to put those feet up

  1. What an exciting time! I watched so many people go on maternity leave when I worked in an office–I was so envious of their time away. I imagine it’s really hard to come back once the baby is here.

Leave a Reply

