Taking on old hobbies

Candlemaking with a three-year-old. Not the usual rainy day activity. Sharp needles, scissors, hot wax, and then burning the finished product. But, it was a success. Even if all he could do was weigh out the wax, choose the colour (pink, of course), and pass me things, he was fascinated by it. It was just a shame that melting the wax took longer than I remembered as he started to get a bit fed up. I know for next time.

Before Christmas, my sister came to stay. I had this brainy idea for some Christmas tree decorations – we didn’t make them then, but we have held onto the idea for next Christmas. The thing is, it got us onto the discussion of arty crafty stuff, both of us feeling a little jealous of various friends and family who are always showing off their fancy cupcakes, homemade cards and decorations, amongst other things. Why couldn’t we be crafty like that too?

Thinking back though, I was. Growing up, my evenings and weekends were full with candlemaking, beading, making jams and chutneys, calligraphy – and those are just the things I remember. This was on top of the endless writing and reading, not to mention homework and countless extra-curricular activities. Like the writing, these things got lost along the way. I was caught up in the ride of life, finding out who I am, only to discover now that I have been led in one big circle. The things I was passionate about then, I still love now, I just needed to find them again.

Well, I started with the candlemaking as I recalled I still had a box of equipment at my parents’ house, including two large bags of wax, moulds, and a lifetime’s supply of dyes. When I text Mum about it she said she had stumbled upon it only that week, and as we were seeing each other the next week, I made the most of the opportunity to become reacquainted with it!

Next is the beading. In looking for my candlemaking book I stumbled across two large boxes of beads and wire. Some packets of beads had not even been opened! I could probably sell them on for a decent amount of money. However, it would be far more fun to use them. It is probably not an activity I can do with Harry, although he has taken an interest and I do have some child-friendly beads so maybe… I could not however find my beading book, so I will have to go to the beadshop soon and hunt out a new one to get some ideas and buy any equipment that I might still need.

I think it is going to be a homemade Christmas this year! Mum’s already expecting a candle for her Birthday :-D.

One thought on “Taking on old hobbies

  1. It’s funny how we remember the things we used to do at school and re-visit them later on in life. I started jewellery making a few years ago and had my own stall at a craft fair. I ran out of time to do it, with other studies, so I taught my mum and she now has an amazing monthly stall in town. She’s so good at it! I’m always getting supplies from amazon for the findings (a lot cheaper than shops) and there are some lovely little bead shops about! And I made my own candles as gifts for Christmas, it’s fun isn’t it! You’re certainly filling your time well and making some amazing things 🙂 Hope Harry loved making the candles too 🙂

Leave a Reply

