Banana and oat facemask

My skin has been playing up no end the past few weeks. Pregnancy hormones mean it doesn’t know what to do with itself, but starting back to work and a rotten cold certainly haven’t helped either. Come the weekend I had had enough. But I had ran out of facemask and was unable to get to Lush. So, what do I do? I make my own.

This is something I have wanted to try for a while. I have a few recipes at home but they’re all a bit fancy and require non-household ingredients. However, banana and oats – a classic facemask combination – was something I could quite easily bang together.

I was unsure whether this combination would be appropriate for my skin type. Oatifix, Lush’s equivalent, is one of two that I have yet to try and is predominantly for dry skin and as my skin is generally quite oily I was saving it to last. However, I had got to the stage where I was willing to try anything. In fact, anything different to what I normally do was probably the answer.

So, I got online and searched for some recipes. I know protocol dictates referencing what I used but I looked at so many and in the end adapted my favourite anyway. (It was basically the top ten links when searching for banana and oat facemasks on Google – just ignore the one which says leave it on for an hour or 40 minutes if you’re pushed for time, I have never heard of leaving a facemask on this length of time, generally it is 10-15 minutes for fresh or 5-10 minutes for any other.)

The following recipe makes LOADS. I would say 3 to 4 masks depending on how much you like to use. The excess I have frozen so I will have to see how that turns out and report back! (Although I predict brown banana and slightly less effective.)

1 banana (to moisturise)
2 tsp oats (to soothe and protect)
2 tsp honey (an antiseptic)
2 tsp milk (to soften and nourish)
1 tsp ground almonds (to exfoliate)

Quite simply, mash the banana, stir in everything else, apply to clean face, relax and wash off after 10-15 minutes.

Quite unexpectedly, this facemask worked it’s magic. The red raw skin around my nose and lips completely vanished. No exageration. Before the mask, they were sore and red as anything. Afterwards, my skin was softer than before. There has also been a noteable difference in the spots that have been bugging me for weeks on end and my face as a whole was much more it’s normal colouring rather than rather red and blotchy. I don’t think I have ever had such success with a facemask! Saying that, I may not have the same success again, and neither may a different person, because skin care is very personal and what may work for one person may not work for another; likewise, what may work on a given day may not work on another. But for now, my skin loves me again.

3 thoughts on “Banana and oat facemask

  1. Not going to lie, sounds like an ace recipe for a soft baked cookie too…! Glad it work on your skin though and it’s soothed the soreness ๐Ÿ™‚ Credit to you for the creativeness!

Leave a Reply

