Juicing madness

It is that time of year again. I have dug my juicer out of the cupboard and vowed to make, and drink, a glass of fresh juice a day. I blamed it initially on the short bout of sunshine that we had last week. However, it is actually beetroot’s fault. It was beetroot’s fault last year too. As soon as I get the first bunch in my veg box I just think ‘juice!’. It’s one of those veg that we only like in really really small doses, yet we always get an armful of it, so after using it in a creamy beetroot pasta dish, I get out the juicer. And it is transformed. Drinking beetroot juice makes me feel like the healthiest person on the planet!

So, my vow of one a day has lasted five days so far and I am well and truly stocked up on apples, pears, oranges and carrots to last me the week.

Wednesday

010

3 x Beetroot (2 cooked, leftover from the pasta dish)

1 x carrot

1 x celery

1/2 tsp cumin

This was an adaptation of a recipe in Hugh F-W’s ‘Veg Everyday’. It was OK but probably one I needed to follow the recipe for to truly appreciate it.

Thursday

012

2 x carrot

1 x pear

1cm ginger

My own concoction though influenced by several recipes. A very zingy combination that hits all the tastebuds.

Friday

015

1 x orange

1 x carrot

1 x celery

Recipe from The Australian Women’s Weekly ‘Healthy Eating’. Love this combination. I was going to do one with ginger instead of celery but wanted something different from the previous day. Would never thought to add the celery but works really well and each flavour is detectable and well-balanced.

Saturday

017

2 x apples

2 x bananas

1tbsp peanut butter

Enough milk to get desired consistency

This is actually my own version of a smoothie called Monkey Business from Michael van Straten’s ‘Super Juice’. I put everything in the blender and add milk – his version juices 6 apples and blends this with the other ingredients. It was enjoyed by us all!

021 023

1 x beetroot

1 x carrot

1 x apple

1 x celery

Handful of parsley

My own concoction though similar to some of the recipes in ‘Super Juice’. The parsley didn’t juice very well as I hadn’t wrapped it well enough with the other ingredients but still really tasty – I have only ever used carrot with beetroot and never apple, but the apple makes all the difference!

Sunday

042

6 mint leaves

5 brazil nuts

10 oz soya milk

5 oz yoghurt

1 dsp honey

2 dsp carob powder

This is a smoothie recipe from ‘Super Juice’ that I made a couple of years ago using cocoa powder rather than carob and loved it so thought I’d give it a go following the actual recipe. Although I could only get carob flakes rather than the powder which meant it didn’t mix as well as it should. Tasted really good for me but needed more of the chocolatey or caroby flavour. Not approved by James and especially not Harry!

2 thoughts on “Juicing madness

Leave a Reply

