Camp NaNo target achieved with an unexpected ending

Expect the unexpected. Not something I tend to do when I am writing. I’m always aware that things just suddenly happen without planning and just by writing, but I have a vague idea of where I’m heading, where I want to end up. Definitely not so with this story. Book 2 has had a mind of its own ever since I got into the grounds of not-knowing. By this point I thought I was running out of steam a bit, that I was too close to the end with not enough words. But then one thing happened after another and suddenly I was on 35k, then 40k, then by the weekend I had reached 45k and I had something of an idea how I was going to finish. Until today. Today I finished with an approximate word count of 50,140 (I had to have a very irritating five minute break mid-flow when I finished my notebook – definitely should have been more prepared!). But, my ending took me by surprise, complete and utter surprise. So much so that these books are definitely not going to be a trilogy anymore and book 3 will now be book 4. Although I always thought I had scope for more than three books, I was not expecting there to be one between this one and the one already in my head, but ta-da! Expect the unexpected!

This change in the events and the way book 2 has panned out has certainly helped with book 1 editing (or, will help once I restart on it) as now the storyline that I was having problems with is more important than ever and cannot be cut out entirely. So I have a lot of work ahead of me in that respect! First job is to type of the changes I made before camp, adn hopefully restart editing next week if not before. I have a few other bits of catch up to do before then anyway – a letter to a penfriend and writing up Harry’s journal (we have kept this since he was born and it documents all his daytrips, holidays and special events). These combined will probably be another 50,000 words! I also have a lot of reading to catch up on – firstly, Labyrinth by Kate Mosse. Another busy month ahead of me but if I set myself a plan I will be fine :-). My mind is such chaos at the moment that even to-do lists aren’t helping much, so I really really need to get myself organised!

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNo target achieved with an unexpected ending

  1. Well done for hitting your target! It’s exciting that the plot has developed so much that there is now going to be an extra book. And with a surprise ending too. It’s one thing to surprise the reader, but another thing entirely to surprise yourself as the author! 😀

  2. Well done, Natalie! I love it when that happens and I’m hoping I have a similar experience with my WIP as I am getting deeper in to unknown territory and hoping I won’t run out of steam.

Leave a Reply

