Editing update

As usual I have too much to do and too little time. Not helped because I seem to spend most of my time not doing the things I should be doing. February is not a ‘me’ month. My husband is doing the revisions for his Masters thesis, which is due in at the end of the month, so I have been helping a lot with that. Additionally, I am proofreading the thesis of one of his coursemates (which I should really be doing now but Harry fell asleep on the way home from nursery so I technically have a whole hour that I had not counted on having!). On top of all that I am waiting to hear if my contract at work is going to be made permanent. My line manager has a meeting with the big boss on the 14th and will find out then, but talk about dragging it on! I’m the closest to stressness-pulling-my-hair-out-edness that I have ever been. So, not surprisingly, editing is taking a bit of a backseat.

To be honest, this is probably a good thing. I need a breather, and I’m kind of on schedule. Not that I really have a schedule, but I’m more or less where I want to be even though it feels like I’m going so so slowly. I am going to use this time to assess where I am at as it would be good to get it written down, just to get my head around it more than anything.

Part 1

Very happy with this first section. There is a lot to introduce but I have done this well – not too much all in one go, and I like to think I am good at showing rather than telling. Each chapter and scene has a purpose and I am dropping a few ‘clues’ as I go along. I like the characters that appear here but I need to develop them further as they’re not on paper like they are in my head, likewise for dialogue. I omitted a few key details in my first draft, but these are things that will be easy enough to write in.

Part 2

Some good bits and bad bits. A couple of chapters that need a complete rewrite. Funnily enough, I didn’t think I would find it so exhilarating putting a great big red cross through entire chapters, but I did. I am proud of myself that I was able to do this. Generally, these chapters lacked some purpose and I wasn’t saying what I really wanted to say. I know in my head how I want part 2 to be but I seem to be struggling to put it on paper, especially one of the key characters. This section also includes the first of one of my poignant key scenes where the meaning of my MCs journey starts to become clear, and it also drops a monster of clues. However, it is not where I want it to be yet. I cry at this scene when I think of it, when I write it, but when I read it it does not have the same impact. I think it is one of those scenes I will write twenty times at least before I get it right!

Part 3

This part is probably the one that needs most work at the moment, mainly because it is so important to the nature of the story and to keep it flowing. I need to particularly work on the relationship between my MC and the character who will become her guide, amongst other things. Most important though, I have completely ignored something that will happen at the end of the book. Seriously, if you were to read it now you would be thinking ‘what the…?’ and wondering why on earth that happened. It is something I have deliberated getting rid of altogether, but I came to the conclusion that it adds more depth and meaning, so I am going to stick with making things complicated!

Part 4

Still working my way through part 4 with just two chapters to go. A couple that need rewrites (one chapter really did have a purpose but it was something I never wrote down and when I came to write it I could not remember what the purpose was and now it is a pointless, meaningless scene and I have no idea what I am supposed to do with it instead). I definitely need to work on my character development here as the depth and background that I know so well is not making itself apparent on paper. It’s stuff that is subtle, things I want to tease the reader with. A couple more poignant key scenes here and, although they need work, I am happy with them. There are a couple of paragraphs that are my absolute favourites and each time I read them I look for something to make them better but I just love them as they are!

I will finish on that note. I really must crack on with that proofreading before I get too tired (the girl is German and her sentence structure and vocabulary is hard to make sense of in places!).

3 thoughts on “Editing update

  1. It’s interesting to hear how you’re getting on, and it’s great that while some bits need work, there are other parts that you’re pleased with. It helps to remember those parts when you have a wobble!

    I’m especially intrigued about the scene that makes you cry! The rewrites sound like they’ll be completely worth it in the end 🙂

    Keep up the good work (and good luck with the proofreading too!)

    PS: If you ever want a beta reader, bear me in mind.

    • Thank you 🙂 How is your editing going? I will certainly bear you in mind! From everything I have read on your blogs I think you would make a great beta reader. Please bear me in mind too if you ever want one. The excerpt you posted a while ago really fascinated me!

      • Ah thank you, it’s very kind of you to say that. I will definitely keep you in mind too. I’ll be sending my WIP off to a professional editor some time next week, so I might be taking you up on your offer fairly soon. Eek! 🙂

Leave a Reply

