My goals for 2013

2012 was a funny year with moving and starting a new job. I spent the first half of the year as a stay-at-home Mum and doing a bit of evening work and this made me assess what I wanted out of life. And I concluded that it was what I always wanted to do. I just needed to get off my backside, get some confidence and get on with it! So, I buckled down with research and planning for a book that I have wanted to write for seven years. And in November, having found a job with ideal working hours (9am-3pm Monday to Friday), I spent two hours after work each day before picking up my son from nursery writing my book, winning NaNoWriMo for the first time since 2005.

And so, I sit here now thinking about my goals for this coming year. I am on a temporary contract at work which terminates at the beginning of March and I am hoping they will extend it because the hours are perfect, there is no pressure or stress, I love my colleagues, and the thought of finding another job petrifies me for what if I cannot find something with all these things? Hence, I will no doubt be adjusting my goals come March depending on what happens.

2013’s goals divide into two clear categories: read more andwrite more.

2012 was not a bad year for reading. I was going to write down exactly how many books I read but I seem to have misplaced my book journal (I am having a very forgetful day). Nevertheless, I have been averaging at about two a month – a far cry from what I used to read but I am pleased with this. Therefore, my target for this year is 25 books: 2 books a month and the 25th book is ‘Le Morte d’Arthur’ which I have wanted to restart reading for a while and have decided that the best way to do this is by reading a fixed amount per day (2.2 pages) over the year! (Which means that today I must read 6.6 pages as I have not started yet, oops.) January’s books will be ‘Sophie’s World’by Jostein Gaarder which I am about a quarter of the way through (I keep getting distracted by it with ideas for my book) and ‘The Chessmen’ by Peter May, the final book in a trilogy that I first fell in love with when I was doing the Richard and Judy Book Club reading list – ‘The Blackhouse’ was the first book I had really enjoyed in a long time. February I will then read two books I got for Christmas – ‘The Snow Child’ by Eowyn Ivey which I have been getting some fantastic reviews of and ‘Walk the Lines’ which is a travelogue written by someone who walked all the tube lines in London. Since my Mum and I did the Monopoly Board Walk this is something we have joked (somewhat seriously) about doing so it was a great find by my husband.

Writing-wise, my main focus is on my book. I am going to start editing on Monday and I am hoping to have something I am happy with by the end of February (to coincide with the end of my contract) which I will then pass on to a few people to get their input and then I’ll go from there. My plan is to go down the traditional route rather than self-publishing.

Other writing goals are to blog more – realistically I’m going for twice a month but ideally I would like to post weekly! I will also aim to write at least one short story a month and send them off to competitions (I have found some rather interesting sounding ones in a magazine including which takes place every Saturday at 5.30pm GMT and in half an hour participants must write and submit a short story based on one of the themes provided).

So, here goes… roll on 2013 (but not too fast)!

2 thoughts on “My goals for 2013

  1. Read more and write more — I can definitely relate to that. I never have as much time as I would like for reading. The Snow Child was one of my favourite books that I read last year. It’s just beautiful. I can still remember much of it vividly, which is a miracle as I have a terrible memory for books and I read it in July or August I think. So yes, it made a big impact on me.

    Good luck with your editing too. I’ve also started editing this week and I’m finding it a terrifying process! And speaking of short story competitions, do you buy Writing Magazine? It includes at least two competitions each month.

    Best wishes for 2013!

    • I’m absolutely petrified of starting to edit – not least because my rota has now changed for next week and I’m working an extra six hours! I have picked up a Writing Magazine to check it out – looks great and far more what I was looking for. Last week I decided I needed to start reading relevant magazines but there was not much in WHSmiths (they did not have Writing Magazine in). The one I picked up was good but seemed to fall between the hobby and the professional and it wasn’t what I wanted, although the competition list was comprehensive.
      All the best for 2013 for you too!

Leave a Reply

